Tag Archives: Esther Espino

Local residents receive NIU Dean’s Award

DEKALB—The following local residents recently received the Northern Illinois University Dean’s Award: Bryan Bodway, Louise Bond, Tara Coulson, Carly Dillavou, Erin Diviak, Ryan Dwyer, Matthew Galloway, Sarah Hatch, Spencer Johnson, Matthew Ritschdorff and Mary Trotier, all of Elburn; Lauren Boddy, Kelsey Borg, Meghan Dienst, Esther Espino, Elyse Heimann, Michael Jenny, Kyle Miller, Amy Rivers, Lauren Stott, Daniel Twait and Cassandra Yagen, all of Maple Park; Richard Banik, Amelia Bumsted, Adam Canzoneri, Amanda Companiott, Jessica Lubic, Jarred Popp, Zachary Smith, Meredith Wood and Kelsey Zollinger, all of Sugar Grove.

The Dean’s Award is given to graduating students who demonstrate significant achievement and leadership in the areas of scholarship, camp and community activities, and professional service. Criteria for the award includes attainment of a 3.0 minimum grade point average, and nomination by faculty based on service to the nominee’s academic department or college.

WCC adds to its student art collection

Photo: “Confusion,” an oil painting by Edward Manning, of Geneva, is one of 17 student-created artworks purchased by Waubonsee Community College for the spring semester. The works are displayed throughout the college’s campuses. Courtesy Photo

SUGAR GROVE—During the spring 2011 semester, Waubonsee Community College purchased 17 pieces of student-created artwork to display around its campuses. Through its Student Art Purchase Program, which started in fall 2006, the college has acquired a total of 108 pieces of original artwork.

Deirdre Battaglia, of Sugar Grove and Esther Espino of Maple Park both created artwork that was chosen by the community college.

WCC announces May 2010 graduates

There were several local students who earned degrees from Waubonsee Community College following the spring semester.

From Elburn: Rachelle Branca, Amanda Briggs, Kimberly Gaston, Joshua Gould, Crystal Phillips, Jana Roderova, Theresa Terpstra and Elizabeth Thomas.

From Maple Park: Madeline Brennan, Kathryn Campbell, Meghan Dienst, Esther Espino, Mera Kolisnyk, Dale Markham, Joel Meeter and Rebecca Nelson.

From Sugar Grove: David Berg, Beverly Carter, Erin Cinto, James Finks III, Margaret Galles, Joseph Goodmann, Carla Grobe, Maybelle Harshey, Elaine Herkes, Jenna Schmidt, Annamarie Wilczynski and Jennifer Wilczynski.

Acid Reflux Comedy Troupe gives back

KANELAND—Acid Reflux, the four-year-old comedy troupe hailing from Batavia, is no stranger to sharing with people who need it.

Over the years, they have given over $3,000 to deserving causes, including community theatres and multiple charities. All proceeds from “Acid Reflux in Wonderland”‘s performance on Friday, April 2, will be donated to the Time Out program at the LivingWell Cancer Resource Center, a program designed to help children with cancer as a part of their everyday lives.

The show starts at 8 p.m. at the Jester’s Courtyard Theatre, an extension of All Dressed Up Costumes, located within the historic Campana Building, 901 W Batavia Ave., Batavia. There is also an encore performance scheduled for Saturday, April 3, at 8 p.m.

The sketch comedy troupe was established in 2006 by Kaneland alum Bryan Renaud (class of 2009), and features all original material written and performed by current Kaneland students Ben Tennant, Kasey Ostarello and Ryan Stasell, as well as Bessie Tockstein (class of 2009).

The troupe also recently helmed the talents of Kaneland students Chelsea Roberts, Angela Filippin, as well as many other Kaneland alumni, including Erika Davidson, Katie Holloman and Esther Espino (all of the class of 2007). Nikky Prusinski (class of 2009). Steven Sledzinski, Jill Nigh and Emily Schmidt also join the cast.

Acid Reflux Comedy Troupe’s past seasons will be available for purchase at the show on DVD. You can also purchase the DVD’s online at www.acidrefluxcomedy.com.

Tickets are $10. Reservations are strongly recommended by calling (630) 551-TUMS.

NIU announces Fall 2009 dean’s list

Northern Illinois University announced its fall 2009 dean’s list students.

Those from the area who achieved the criteria are Caitlan Ayala, Stephanie Dietiker, Carly Dillavou, Kelsey Drendel, Krista Escamillo, Ashley Farmer, Micaelyn Janke, Spencer Johnson, Joseph Krachala, Erika McItnay, Teodor Paraskevov, Matthew Ritschdorff, Andrew Weissenburger and Victoria Yuracheck, all of Elburn; Jonathan Easto, William Homan, Linda Huber, Rachel Mcdowell, Matthew Milligan, Amber Morris, Monica Ratiu, Brittany Schirmer, Lindsay Stahl, Jennifer Walker and Sofia Zafar, all of Sugar Grove; and Danila Colosi, Christopher Edwards, Crystal Edwards, Esther Espino, Michael Jenny, Elspeth Klotz, Amy Rivers, Alexis Weber and Christine Williams, all of Maple Park.