Tag Archives: Mark Michelson

Illinois dean’s list, graduates named for fall, December 2011

Champaign, ILL.—The following students were named to the Illinois dean’s list for fall 2011: Thomas Webster, Haley Davis, Steven Boor, Mark Michelson and Lauren Farmer, all of Elburn; Kristin Pitstick and Brittany Perrotta of Maple Park; and Kevin Durrenberger, Stacey Piotrowski, Michael Vilim, Thomas Cruger, Jessica White, Brian Weltzer, Daniel Arnold, Meghan Murphy and Ryan Eberle, all of Sugar Grove.

The following students were named Illinois graduates for December 2011: Nicholas Konen, Taylor Pattermann and Benjamin Tondera all of Sugar Grove

UofI announces graduates, dean’s list

Champaign, Ill.—The following local residents were named May 2011 graduates of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign: Kerrington Brown, Melanie Carlson, Sara Gramley, Lauren Steidl, Michelle Weiland, all of Elburn; Adam Blazek, Jamie Fields, Andrew Herren, Bridgett Husk, Melanie Marr, John Payne, Ericka Rogers, Charlie Ward, Ryan Well, all of Sugar Grove; and Kathleen Stover of Maple Park

The following local residents were named to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s dean’s list for the spring 2011 semester: Steven Boor, Kerrington Brown, Haley Davis, Lauren Farmer, Haley Johnson, Mark Michelson, Jacqueline Ream, Jared Shurtleff, all of Elburn; Whitney Christman, Thomas Cruger, Ryan Eberle, Jamie Fields, Bridgett Husk, Michael Vilim, Brian Weltzer, Jessica White and Victoria Zapata, all of Sugar Grove; and Hayden Johnson and Tyler Larson of Maple Park.

U of I names dean’s list

Champaign, ill.—The following local students have been named to the Dean’s lists for the 2010 fall semester at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Mark Michelson, Steven Boor, Melanie Carlson, Lauren Farmer and Haley Johnson, all of Elburn; Abigayle Vanderheyden, Emily Hopkins, Kristin Pitstick and Hayden Johnson, all of Maple Park; Bridgett Husk, Kapil Gudivada, Meghan Murphy, Michael Vilim, Adam Blazek, Tondera Ben, Brian Weltzer, Jessica White, Victoria Zapata and Ryan Eberle, all of Sugar Grove.

Dean’s list eligibility is limited to the top 20 percent of a student’s college class or curriculum. To be eligible for the Dean’s list recognition, students must complete at least 14 academic semester hours taken for letter grade.

Broadway Bound event benefits Lazarus House

St. Charles—The public is invited to join the fun with Lazarus House as they enjoy an exhilarating revue of Broadway show tunes performed by local high school and college students at 7 p.m. Friday, July 16, at the Arcada Theater, St. Charles. 

Tickets are $10. Each year, Broadway Bound show earnings are dedicated to a local charity or community organization selected by group founder Mark Michelson Jr. For the second year, all ticket sales will go to Lazarus House, a community-based nonprofit emergency shelter and center for transitional living and a community outreach service provider serving people who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless and are connected to St. Charles, Geneva, Batavia or western rural Kane County. 

Broadway Bound was initiated in 2005 by Michelson when he assembled a group of like-minded talented students whom he had grown to know through the years in various theater groups throughout the area.

“I thought we had a fantastic opportunity to give back to the community with the knowledge and skill we gained over the course of our artistic development,” Mickelson said. “Broadway Bound is a unique outlet for the cast members to explore their personal passions … Lazarus House is a group which I feel works similarly to aid those who become engulfed with monetary restraints, which I think are the key factor in inhibiting the pursuit of an individual’s personal passions and ambitions.”

For more information, call (630) 587-2144.

Photo: Broadway Bound singers John Stombres, (from left) Amy Marik and Emory Tower, provide a sampling of their sound at a past Lazarus House Open House/Block Party. Courtesy Photo